The inaugural ‘OAHC Special Recognition Award’ was awarded to Brian Winn at the Club AGM.

Winno has been incredibly dedicated, loyal, committed and passionate to OAHC for over 4 decades. The epitome of all the values any OAHC member aspires to have, despite the fact he has never played for the Club. Players may join, retire or leave but Winno has been ever present in the background for OAHC. While he modestly appears in team photos every couple of seasons, Winno is constantly striving this club to be better. As modest a man you’ll ever meet. He has been there through the highs, the lows, the rebuilding and everything in between.

OAHC are extremely lucky to have such a champion of our Club. Meticulously follows every league table, keeps up to date with all Leinster match times, encourages players, respects umpires, persuasive in recruitment and always tracks down every OAHC club shirt globally!

A small token of the OAHC community gratitude and appreciation for Winno’s outstanding work behind the scenes. We look forward to his continued enthusiasm over the next four decades!

Thank you Winno for everything you do and continue to do for OAHC.



OAHC Carol Metchette was awarded Honorary Life Membership by Ireland Hockey. This highly esteemed award was presented at the Irish Hockey Association AGM.

Carol has become one of the world’s top hockey umpires. With an incredibly decorated umpiring career, Carol has umpired in two Olympic games, a World Cup and Champions Trophies. As an FIH rule, in 2012 Carol transitioned from an international on-pitch umpire to an official video referral umpire. Carol will attend her third Olympic games later this Summer in Rio.

Congratulations Carol on this prestigious award.


Big congrats to our 4 international masters players who recently competed in Edinburgh in the Home Countries Tournament vs Scotland, England and Wales. 
Ireland O40’s
Gillian Garrett
Noreen Dockery
Ireland O50’s
Orla Galvin 
Joanne O’Grady
A special high five to Gillian and Noreen who were integral to their team winning the O40’s tournament. 

A special mention to Joanne who captained the O50’s Irish team throughout the tournament.